Home > Optima, Products > Happy Mistakes

Happy Mistakes


Author PhotoI love to cook and entertain in our home. Every year we host my husband’s family on Christmas Eve. Now, while I love to cook, I have to admit that I lean on a friend of ours who owns a really good barbeque place to do the catering for that evening. And everyone loves it. So win-win!!

But there are a few things that I do make to supplement the evening and other family members bring salads and sweets and such. This year I realized that I didn’t have any fresh fruit so I made a quick trip to the store up the street and when I returned I whipped up a super easy fruit dip containing Greek yogurt as the base, raw honey and a touch of cinnamon.

In all the hustle and bustle, I did not realize that instead of adding cinnamon, I accidentally reached for and added chili powder!! It wasn’t until much later in the evening that I realized my mistake. Believe it or not, it didn’t taste bad. I’ll let you in on a little secret, though…you are the first to learn of my mistake. Shhhh… don’t tell anyone!

Have you ever thought about mistakes?  They are or can be really happy occurrences. Yes, they can. Where would we be without famous women like Ruth Wakefield, the co-owner of the Tollhouse Inn and inventor of chocolate chip cookies. A happy mistake!

treesAnd maybe they shouldn’t be called mistakes. Maybe they are really R&D (research & development) discoveries. Yes, that’s what they are. If you haven’t read Optima’s January Newsletter, I invite you to read it here and discover what our R&D has been up to. There have been some happy finds…some maybe almost as good and Mrs. Wakefield’s happy discovery of the chocolate chip cookie. Yum!

About the Author

Shannan Werckle is an Account Executive at Optima Graphics.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

Feature Image

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

