Home > Business, Examples, Optima, Products > I Would Not Have Expected That

I Would Not Have Expected That


AuthorAn observation shared by many in this industry is that there are more folks closer to retirement than their thirtieth birthday. An assessment that was first pointed out to me by an I&D supervisor 4-5 years ago when he said – “look around the floor, there are more of us wearing bifocals than not”. A positive of all this experience amongst us is certainly the fact that there is never a shortage of opinions and tenured opinions at that. I see this manifest itself in two ways, but not necessarily both being good. The first is, ultra-fast problem solving. I could type a list as long as my arm of MacGyver like people in this industry and one I have to point out is Rich Johnson.

Sorry, Rich to point you out again, but can we all stop and give this man a round of applause for his work with the Randy Smith Memorial Golf Classic. I wrote about him a year ago and I just watched him use his superbly honed empathy powers to run the days event, MC the dinner, and treat each and every person like they were royalty for the day. He really has a gift and the cool thing is that it is just who he is – no more, no less.
Ok, I sidetracked my self – so, bunch of MacGyver types in the biz… and second some of these MacGyver’s are also a bit quick on stating what won’t work and at times, potentially a bit prematurely. I get it because when you have 30-40 seconds to evaluate and the inner alarm clock is ticking to take action, it is really hard to not skip an idea and move onto another. I am not going to insert some shaman like Buddha quote to pretend I have a solution or even think there is one, but just simply state, it is what it is. We all like and need the MacGyver’s and in a crunch, if Bob says, no, but let’s try this – I am cool with that.
AuthorEverything above hit me in the face when I saw the following photo yesterday afternoon when one MacGyver was right and one was wrong (I am not going to name names because I need them both happy with me). This photo is of a relatively new product(as far as I know) called Gogo panel and it is a modular slot wall system and in conjunction with our old buddy Tony Ricci, the team figured out how to Direct Print on to these panels as well as print and apply a removable vinyl. First off, I had no idea the amount of slot wall that is still needed, sold, and used. Second, I have to say that this is really pretty cool – ok it is super cool. I am sure my Blog Squad is gonna do me a solid and place a link for Gogo here and I will say to those reading, check out the product. When someone is looking for a fresh solution and could use a slot wall / backwall with some pizzazz – this is a pretty cool system.
Back to MacGyver – go give your office Mc-G a high five, it is sure helpful to have them and make sure you partner them up with the incoming youth in the biz. We need to help position the biz for 10/15 years down the line when the MacGyver retirement parties start happening on a monthly basis…
About the Author
Dave Brown is the Vice President of Sales at Optima™.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

footerimg
  1. October 28, 2016 at 11:22 am

    Great post! But the Millenials won’t know who MacGyver is… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

