Home > Business, Examples, Technology > GPS, Common Sense Killer or Helper?

GPS, Common Sense Killer or Helper?


AuthorFirst off, I love me some GPS. I have nicknamed my GPS driving partner ‘Mandy Magellan’ based on the explorer Sir Ferdinand…
I’ll admit it, I talk to Mandy as I am driving – when I miss a turn because the heads-up to turn was 21 feet from the intersection, I have been known to scream at Mandy for not telling me sooner.   I am pretty confident that I am not alone here and I know a few other travelers who have come up with names for their GPS or have changed the voices for fun – the British voice can be fun because the road terminology changes as well. Car Park, lift, and all that stuff that makes you think, and then yell, “damn it Jeremy” – you made me miss my turn (Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear fame was who I pretended was guiding me during the English days of 2015).
AuthorHowever, I have observed a pretty common occurrence and experienced it again this week while with one of my AE’s, Shannan Werckle. We were leaving a parking lot and the GPS had us facing north, told us to turn right and in doing so, headed down a dead end road, so a quick u-turn was needed and Mandy had to “reroute” us so we could start all over. Well, I saw the “No Outlet” sign and actually sat quietly to see what Shannan would do (sorry Shannan). See the sign and not turn right or simply follow the direction. Again – sorry Shannan (she is an excellent driver and my observation in no way reflects her abilities).
My observation is a simple one – sometimes the technology we use becomes such a trusted tool that part of our brain overrides the common sense indicator. This morning I am with another of my AE’s, Mark Nardoni, and he reinforced the point when saying – I can see the building we are going to, but the GPS says it is 11 minutes away and wants to take me the opposite direction to do a loop… vs. a left and a right out of the parking lot. I chuckled and shared this blog idea and then we went left and right…
Viva GPS and viva the ole common sense hat – may my brain duel over following the lead of an avatar vs. observation and gut feel. Sometimes the path of least resistance is actually sitting right in front of us, but is not always easy to see which is which. I am so tempted to insert a product example that I see between Optima and one of our competitors, but I am going to resist that urge and head back my car, type in an address and have Mandy guide me there. Mandy, all I ask is that you please give me greater notice on turns, please, please, please…
About the Author
Dave Brown is the Vice President of Sales at Optima™.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

footerimg
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

