Home > Business, Examples, Optima, Products > My Dirty Little Secret

My Dirty Little Secret


AuthorI have a secret, a dirty little secret that I have been harboring for over 19 years now. And NO, my secret is not that I know who shot JR on Dallas.

Unfortunately, the longer I work at Optima and the closer I work with you, the more guilt pangs course through my veins from keeping this secret. I feel as if I must cleanse myself, right this wrong, beg for your forgiveness and head down the path towards redemption.

So here it goes… Don’t be a hater, don’t un-link me from LinkedIn and don’t stop reading this goofy blog!! Click here now to view the totally amazing, totally rentable H-Line 20 x 20 display systems. My dirty little secret is this… Until this year, I have never walked a tradeshow that wasn’t related to or directed towards the trade show/event industry.

I know what you’re thinking… How can someone that professes to be an expert in tradeshows never walk the walk or talk the talk that our end-clients experience once, twice, maybe three time a year???

Having experienced this walk twice in the past month, I can honestly say that we “the experts” have failed or are failing in providing the necessary education, tools and resources to prepare the end user to be totally wowed by their display – not frustrated with it. Seeing a display that is not even close to being assembled correctly breaks my heart.

AuthorI actually walked into a booth that had an SEG-style light box, pulled out the trusty ole cell phone camera and started taking pictures of this backlit display that actually had the SEG-style graphics taped to the frame with clear packaging tape. The proprietor asked me what I was doing and I explained that I had never seen SEG graphics installed in this manner and that, if it were my display, I would have used duct tape since the color of the silver tape would have easily matched the anodized aluminum frame. (Ok another confession…I did not say anything about the tape job). He then began to berate SEG Graphics claiming that “they never fit”, also stating that he was on his 3rd set of graphics because they “always arrived oversized” and what a total “waste of his time and money” this display experience was. I tried to explain to him how to properly install the SEG but he was having none of it… unless of course I was interested in a total beauty make-over and could he please scan my badge. Feeling like a beauty make-over was not in my future, I continued my walk and came across several more examples of tape gone wild.

My point in all of this cleansing is that, as an organization, Optima strives to supply its vendors and end-users with a plethora of support materials. We make them available for all stages of the selling process and in a wide variety of media types and formats. We put them at your fingertips to be effective in quoting, to closing, to pre-sell to post sale. Where we are re-evaluating our efforts is in how we present these assets to you so that they can be accessed, viewed, and printed in a moment’s notice, even from a PDA. Time is valuable, time is money, and a frustrated end-client is a loss for us all.

About the Author

Bob Moser is the Sales Enablement Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 1998.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. August 19, 2016 at 10:46 am

    Bob,

    You are the best.

    Bernie
    Bernie@cpsstl.com

    • Bob Moser
      August 19, 2016 at 2:12 pm

      Thank you sir.

  2. August 19, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    Absolutely valid points – Expolinc SEG Fabric Systems would allowed this exhibitor a much better presentation. Walking tradeshows should be a regular part of all of our on-going education. For resellers it can provide a qualified list of prospects – If their space is horrible, we can help.
    All too often, with firms seeing the value in face to face marketing miss the target by presenting poorly – tape and tool boxes shouldn’t be a requirement to “finishing” tradeshow booths.

  3. Bob Moser
    August 19, 2016 at 2:12 pm

    Jan you are absolutely correct. Our steps in education have to now encompass printed materials, video, face to face and PDA accessible materials.. All to often the person that is buying the booth is not the one setting it up,..

  4. Wendi O
    August 20, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    Very valid points, Bob.

    As a “back-room only” shop quite often our clients call us from a trade show and tell us that
    the fit is perfect….. AND NO wrinkles!
    Don’t forget about wrinkles.

    Sometimes the old expression, “You get what you pay for” comes into play.
    Some people buy on price-not quality.
    And when I see the slightest pucker I just can’t believe the end user accepts it that way.

    It’s not right by any means because fabric graphics are typically more expensive than the structure itself (in comparison).
    A perfect fit should be the “standard”.

    We GUARANTEE our fit will be perfect. And our method of building structures makes for a faster I&D.
    Remember, “much better” (presentation)-NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!

  5. August 22, 2016 at 9:27 am

    Well said Wendi.. Without the end client we would all be doing something else.. it behooves us to insure that their experience is far to the upside of “much better”

  6. Wendi O
    August 22, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    Thank you, Bob!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

