Home > Business, Creative, Examples, Optima, Products > Look Left Right Left or Right Left Right

Look Left Right Left or Right Left Right


AuthorI really love to travel – well I really love to travel for personal / vacation-esque reasons. I recently returned from a trip overseas and it was highlighted by time in the amazing city of Madrid. I nor my wife had ever been there before and I nor my wife have a degree in reading maps (Mapreaderologist). I mention the map because we spent much of our time in the old world area of the city and from the map, it looks like tangled up pasta. We got a bit confused trying to find a specific chocolate shop and at one point, my wife was almost run over by a souped up Vespa traveling down what I thought was the side walk (Not sure, the roads are pretty darn small).

Traveling in Europe always gives me a glimpse at different perspectives and makes me appreciate what and how we do things in the US, but also makes me wonder why we don’t do things differently. In England, you don’t tell your kids look left right left when crossing the road because if they do, they could get nailed by a car coming down the wrong side of the road. My perspective is that they drive on the wrong side of the road, but in England, my perspective is afoot.

Back to me and me traveling… So, I dug Spain, ate Chocolate with an old guy in Madrid, enjoyed wild and amazing art, got sunburned in Barcelona, and somewhere in there had a business A-Ha moment relative to two of our products. Panoramic and H-Line.

Some of the most unique and exciting Panoramic and or H-Line projects I have seen us produce have had one thing in common and that is what I will call an Immersive Design. Super strong graphic design, printed carpet to tie the experience together and or a hanging sign that connect the floor message to the hanging message. But over the last six months, I think some of the super tight budgets we have seen has derailed some of the discussion from experiential and jaw dropping to strictly practical. The practical and tactical discussion or picture and a price discussion has overshadowed the strong, successful, and budget eradicating design based concepts and beauty of “Immersive Design”.

AuthorLook at this video we made 2-3 years back regarding the benefit of Panoramic. The Power of Panoramic or power of full visual solution is simply a different take on digging into and creating an immersive environment. Immersive does not mean expensive as we have used good ole “value engineering” at times to help package the right product to yield the desired result. Maybe using H-Line or using a VBurst to create the right solution….

The essence of this message is that the power of allusion and Immersive Design, can take a good structural design and turn it into a “Gotta Have” experience. The addition or inclusion of InStep carpet can do the same and what I mean by that is change the perspective and move the discussion from Practical and Tactical to I have to have this. Every buyer in the world can find a way to get the added money when they have to have vs. skimp to save some money if solely relying on a picture and a price.

Thanks for reading and I hope everyone gets to travel somewhere for fun this summer!!!!

About the Author
Dave Brown is the Vice President of Sales at Optima™.

He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. July 1, 2016 at 11:46 am

    Dave…Nice perspective on International Travel! My eight days in Istanbul three weeks ago for (IFES)…was an eye opener. The average wage there pays $3(US equivalent) per hour…and the economy was bustling! A bomb killed more than a dozen people the morning after we departed (close to a tourist area we had visited)…and we all know about the attack recently on the airport. I can’t help but wonder if the guy that gave me the free back massage (professional free masseuse) in the Air Canada lounge was involved in the carnage? I agree with you…great to visit and explore other cultures and ways of life…then great to get back to the USA! Happy Independence Day Weekend everyone!!!

  2. July 5, 2016 at 9:38 am

    Don,
    Glad you enjoyed that trip and left unscathed. Positive thoughts for those who were injured and for the families of the victims killed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

