Home > Business, Products > Where Raw Emotions Live

Where Raw Emotions Live


Author PhotoIt’s fun to reminisce, don’t you think? Yesterday I got out of bed, got dressed and headed to kickboxing class. It was still dark outside. We work out to music, of course.* And wouldn’t you know it, I found myself transported back to my college days. It was a scene where I am traveling/ driving across country—a six hour trip (one-way) with my younger sister and brother to go visit our parents in Cincinnati who were on an extended business trip. And the music… ah yes, the music we listened to ALL the way there and ALL the way back were my tween brother’s rap mix tapes. This was the late ’80’s so you could actually understand the lyrics. I was not especially a fan of this kind of music, but I learned to appreciate the art of the story and it was and still is my brother’s favorite kind of music. So yesterday morning, I found myself throwing jabs, hooks, kicking rounds to all the usual suspects of that era.

Author PhotoIt later provided for a funny text message exchange with my brother and sister who each threw in a funny reference to some Eazy-E lyrics.

While I’ve not been in this industry for long—at least not on this side of the business, I’ve heard stories from many of you about days gone by. It’s fun to listen and learn. Much like rap music has morphed over the years and become a part of our culture and needled its way into mainstream music—it seems to me that the trade show/ event industry has changed and morphed as well. And for certain the products definitely have. I imagine that Optima may have been a bit of a rogue like rap music was when they introduced the Xpressions® line many years ago. But it filled a need and out of that grew competition and more products and solutions for that early market life-cycle exhibitor. Or maybe the budget conscious, whichever it may be. And then Optima did it again when they introduced this idea of applying a silicone edge to fabric graphics.

“What’s NEXT!™….?”, you might say. Oh, so glad you asked. Like that transition?? NEXT!™ is what it’s all about and what I’ve been sharing lately. Product Photo The NEXT!™ Modular SEG Fabric System is a super portable solution with a refined package for those customers who want to look fabulous and not break their back or their wallet. Come check it out!

And feel free to reminisce. It’s fun!

* “the pathways to our pre-cortical brain, which is where raw emotions live – sound gets in 20 to a 100 times faster than sight. And when you look at our senses as a whole, they inform each other…So what you’re hearing can affect your perception and interpretation of what you see.”
~ Steven Keller IV Audio Branding

About the Author

Shannan Werckle is an Account Executive at Optima Graphics.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

