Home > Business, Optima > Communications – The Fastest Isn’t Always The Bestest!

Communications – The Fastest Isn’t Always The Bestest!


AuthorRecently I was at a party in my neighborhood and I was sitting with a group of fathers who have teenage children. One of the dads was telling a story of a recent situation he experienced with his 17 year old daughter. It seems his daughter had texted him with a question so he immediately called her back and she did not answer. So he called her again and still no answer. After the third call his daughter texted him, “Dad don’t call me just answer the question!” The dad was furious. “That is so rude! You call me back young lady. Who do you think is paying for that phone!”

I found that ironic because a week before I was in a restaurant and overheard a conversation with some teens and the next table. “Don’t you hate it when you text someone and they call you back? That is so rude of someone!” I thought to myself, I just experienced the latest communication generation gap!  

blog photoSince I am from the Boomer generation I have experienced a lot of changes in how people communicate. When I was a kid, the only type of phone available had a rotary dial rather than push buttons or flat screen. There was also a good chance that you were sharing “the line” with another person which meant you had to wait your turn to make your call.

Back in the 70’s when I started my graphics career, project discussions were either held in person or on the phone. Everything was communicated verbally and in writing. If only written instructions were received, they were always followed up by a phone call to verify the details. Detailed instructions for Print Production were written on the production boards and accompanied by a purchase order.

Today, technology has sped up the process which allows us to design and produce graphics in a fraction of the time that it took 40+ years ago – which is a good thing. We can email or text graphic information anywhere in the world in an instant and get layouts and graphics produced in the same day. But the end result still depends on the detail of the information that is sent. Since joining Optima, I have experienced product requirements and instructions being discussed over a series of multiple emails which often become disjointed and confusing. blog photoIn my book, nothing beats a conference call or face to face meeting when working on complex projects. And every project, large and small, should be accompanied by a detailed purchase order.

If you are not sure of what details we need to help make your project a success, your Optima Account Coordinator is available to assist you. In addition, a blank Purchase Order, containing pertinent information headings, can be found on our website in the “Pricebook” section.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

About the Author
Rich Fava is an Account Executive at Optima Graphics.
He has spent his career in the graphics world since earning his Design degree and in Trade Show since the early 90s.
  1. May 27, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    I’m not quite sure why we even call it a smartphone any more, since the “phone” is the least significant feature to anyone under a certain age.

    As much as I resisted texting, I’ve discovered, much to my chagrin, that it’s more effective than a phone call in some situations. Like, “What time will you be home for dinner?”

  2. Michael Strawn
    May 27, 2016 at 12:41 pm

    Good one Rich! I remember all the old way too, and it usually worked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

