Home > Business, Optima > ExhibitorLIVE. Welcome to the Rabbit Hole.

ExhibitorLIVE. Welcome to the Rabbit Hole.


AuthorI have been a lot of places in my life, not to say that I am a renowned international traveler. But I would like to think that I have experienced a lot of things. With that said, I would be somewhat remiss if I didn’t add EXHIBITORLIVE to my list of eye-opening escapades. When I came to Optima, the word “Exhibitor” came up early and often in orientations, group meetings and with management. They spoke about it as if it were a magical gathering of wizards from middle earth. A place for select members of the chosen few and I was invited. Vegas was nothing new to me…my wife and I had travelled there many times and donated a fair share of our earnings to sin city. This was something entirely different.  

When I walked through door, the bright lights hit me and I could see the towering booths beyond the entry door. Before I went in, I had to get past the guard at the entry. You all saw him, Michael Oher’s bigger brother Nate, Jr. The shear amount of energy that swelled from the floor was unlike anything that I have ever experienced. Behold the great fraternal order of the trade show industry!

AuthorIt was awesome. Everybody knew everyone. Dave Brown was like a rock star! If someone didn’t know who I was, I dropped his name and they would offer to buy me a drink after the show. I even got a chance to meet who Optima folks call “The Creator” – Jim Hoffmann. I also got a chance to see most of my customers who I had not even seen before. They all greeted me like an old friend from high school.

To see the depth of creativity within this industry is mind blowing to say the least. Czarnowski, with their huge red navigator and “Miami Vice” lounge set up – it screamed “Come In and ‘Chill-out!” Derse tempted you with carefully selected wines crafted for those with a refined palate. Classic was there with it’s wide open space and inviting décor. B-Matrix, Eco-Systems and so many more were all creative and captivating.

What I liked most about EXHIBITORLIVE was the sense of community within the industry. Yes, we are competing against one another, but it is done so with a sense of civility and class. I am happy to be part of it.

We’d love to hear your thoughts on the years EXHIBITORLIVE in the comment section below.  See you all next year!

About the Author
Sidney Clark is an Account Representative at Optima™.


The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. March 11, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    Sidney — I “vaguely” recall my first EXHIBITOR. It was much the same — overwhelming, inviting, inspiring. This year every company put on their best “Sunday go to meeting” clothes. Very impressive.

    Our thanks to Optima for your reception. Always the single-best place to meet friends and share stories. The year Optima decides not to sponsor a reception is year I stay home.

    Good to see you Sidney. Best of luck to you and Optima this spring. –Mel

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

