Home > Business > Are You An Enabler?

Are You An Enabler?


AuthorBreaking news.. I have a new role and job title! (cue the drumroll, trumpets trumping, announcer clearing throat as he/she steps up to the mic for this major announcement)

My official title is now Sales Enablement Manager. Yup that’s me, numero uno, the main man, top dog, BMOC, Head Chief. What’s that you say? What exactly is a Sales Enablement Manager? Hmm…darn good question. The exact same darn good question that sent my synapsis into a frenzy while my lips were uttering the pure nonsensical words “sure I am always up for a new challenge”.  

My good friend Webster defines enabler as “one who enables another to persist in self-destructive behavior (as substance abuse) by providing excuses or by making it possible to avoid the consequences of such behavior”… Well this can’t be good. What the heck did I just agree too? And why, oh why, did I not accept the upper management position of Initial Contact Guest Embracer at my local retail establishment when I had the chance.

AuthorTo further agitate my cerebral cortex, my supervisor gave me a reading assignment, (obviously, this individual knows me not). Using my better friend Cliff Notes, I learned that Brainshark defines sales enablement as “A systematic approach to increasing sales productivity, by supporting reps with the content, training, and analytics they need to have more successful sales conversations.”

My first thought was “They actually pay people to do this stuff”?
My second thought was “As a salesperson, I have my literature, my price page, my samples…what else do I need? I present – you buy”.
My third and final thought was this:  The most important aspect of my new role is not to improve the way we communicate with our clients, but to improve the way our clients communicate with theirs. We must have dialogues and presentations that reflect and meet the needs, desires and wants of the end client. Today’s technology and social networking resources have eliminated the need for the traditional product demonstration sales approach. The end client demands meaningful sales conversations that show exactly how their bottom line will be affected.

Be prepared to be enabled!

About the Author

Bob Moser is the Sales Enablement Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 1998.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. January 29, 2016 at 10:55 am

    Hi Bob, If I could write as eloquent as you I would be able to sell Ice to eskimos. Good article

    • Bob Moser
      January 29, 2016 at 11:01 am

      thank you sir.. I wish I could say that the words flowed easily from my brain, to my fingertips to the computer screen.. its a painful process for me.. I do appreciate your kind remarks and if I may ever be of service please let me know. (see enabling again)

  2. January 29, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    Great article Bob and entertaining as well. The graphic is well chosen and sends the message.

  3. Bob Moser
    January 29, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    Thank you!! I appreciate your kind words.. Are you by chance going to Vegas this year? Let me know if I can be of any assistance to you what so ever

  4. Mark Nardoni
    January 29, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    Best Blog Ever

  5. Bob Moser
    January 29, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    Ya right and NO I am not writing your next one

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

