Home > Business, Examples > My Golf Lessons

My Golf Lessons


AuthorFive years ago, my dad gave me a piece of advice that I’m so grateful I have actually remembered (sorry Dad). He said, “Never give up on the game you love.”  The game he’s talking about is golf. I had just recently graduated from Indiana State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Marketing – ready to finally get my big girl job. Now, whether that actually happened right away is another story – maybe save that for my next blog post – but anyways…

As a man who has 35+ years of sales experience under his belt, he knew something that my naïve self certainly did not. He knew that values such as integrity, perseverance, respect, and responsibility (which I learned playing golf) would be the same values I would take into my professional career. He also knew that being a female with above average golf skills (I’m a golfer, I’ll never say I’m good) will be very beneficial in the business world.

Around the time of my graduation, I was given some more advice, this one in the form of a poem relating golf to life. This isn’t the whole thing, but these are my favorite parts:

  • One shouldn’t live in the past – the surest way to make another bad shot is to think about your last bad shot… so don’t play the last hole – play the one in front of you
  • Anger doesn’t accomplish anything – golf is a game of patience and self-control
  • Every so often you’ll do something so dumb that you can feel yourself blush. Just laugh it off – golf makes fools of us all
  • If you cheat, people know. They may not say anything, but they remember. So while you can always give yourself a better lie or change a 7 to a 5, in the long run nothing is really gained and trust is lost
  • In the end, it is about doing the right thing – even when no one is looking

Author

Now whether you have attempted to play the very humbling game we like to call golf or not, I’m sure you can somehow relate these points to your own life. I was fortunate to learn to play golf at a young age, and following my dad’s advice, I still play and love the game more than ever.

I feel lucky that I was able to learn those key values – integrity, perseverance, respect, and responsibility – while playing the game I’m passionate about, and to have been able to incorporate those into my professional career. A lot of business can be done on the golf course – so if anybody needs a scramble partner (I can hit from the red tees!) or just needs a fourth, give me a call.

About the Author

Abby Phillips is an Inside Sales Account Executive at Optima Graphics.
She started at Optima as well as in the trade show industry in 2014.

  1. Kevin Carty
    October 16, 2015 at 11:26 am

    Great post Abby!
    My son is in golf lessons as we speak…thru the PGA’s First Tee Program. And your spot on…they teach values such as integrity, perseverance, respect, and responsibility thru the game of golf. Something, as a sideline observing parent, I greatly appreciate and admire.

    As a golfer…I can attest they are not just values for life, there are much needed in the game itself. Otherwise anyone who loves the game would simply throw away their clubs after any given round 🙂

    • Abby Phillips
      October 19, 2015 at 9:25 am

      Thanks Kevin! That’s definitely a great program to get involved in. And wait, we aren’t supposed to throw our clubs? 🙂 HA I unfortunately have had a club toss or two in my day – of course, not anymore!

      I hope all is well with you!

  2. Mark Nardoni
    October 19, 2015 at 5:45 am

    I think you need to post more blogs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

