Home > Business, Examples, Optima, Products > 7 Words That You Cannot Say in Front of a Salesman

7 Words That You Cannot Say in Front of a Salesman


Author

We are all familiar with George Carlin’s routine the 7 words you cannot say on television, circa 1972, in which he expounds on exactly that. Seven infamous words that were too taboo for television viewing back in the early 70’s. Well, I had a situation that I would like to share with you that is in the same vein. I was recently involved in a sales presentation to an established customer when out of her mouth spewed the vilest of all accumulation of words, hereafter referred to as the 7 words that this salesperson did not want to hear. What made matters worse was the fact that my Sales Manager conveniently decided to evaluate my presentation skills and join me on the call.

Being the seasoned sales professional that I am, (sea salt, pepper, a pinch of cayenne and garlic powder), I am typically quick on my feet, able to overcome objections in a single bound, ask appropriately insightful open-ended questions, and turn any sales pitch into a conversation between friends. But in this instance, those 7 deadly words reduced me to staring at the floor, mouth slightly agate and dry, with the eyes of my supervisor burning deep into my MPB (male pattern baldness) head.

If I may digress a moment, please let me remind you all that Optima is more than just the country’s premier supplier of graphics and hardware for the trade show world. I personally am working on projects where we are rebranding the interior spaces of museums, retail environments, office interiors, restaurants, schools and institutions. Many of Optima’s clients service the largest retail environments, museums and colleges and universities in the country. Optima is capable of producing quality wall coverings, framed fabric and art canvas, dimensional signs and lettering, way-finder signs and hardware, donor walls, backlit murals and even covered sound abatement systems. Please feel free to email me for more information and ideas.

Author

Now to get back to my story. There I was, sitting in this client’s office, feeling slightly inadequate and humiliated. How could my valued client utter those 7 words to me when I was a super salesperson? I rebounded and composed myself as best as possible, forged on with the sale and left a lesser man. What is it, you ask yourself, that could possibly have been said to cause such mental anguish? What were those 7 hideous words? Well here they are: “I did not know you did that.”

Optima is so much more than trade shows. Please remember us for all of your large format graphic presentations and interior branding needs.

About the Author

Bob Moser is a Strategic Account Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 1998.

  1. September 18, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    These truly are the worst 7 words you can hear in a sales call with an existing customer. However, on the bright side of things, a light went off in your customer’s head and now they won’t forget, yaaaaaaaa!!!! This is why we keep visiting our customers, sometimes when we meet with people there are distractions, we’re in the trade show/event business, so this is expected, timing is everything, and your time was right during this meeting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

