Home > Business, Optima > A Little Nostalgia

A Little Nostalgia


Category Icon TestRecently I was in the state of New Jersey on business and while I was driving to my next appointment I noticed that my car’s gas gauge was hovering on empty. I reached for my GPS, hit “Points of Interest”, “Fuel” and saw that there was a Valero station only a mile down the road. I exhaled a sigh of relief and let the Garmin do its work to guide me to the station. After pulling up to the pump an unusual thing happened. A casually dressed man walked over to my car and asked me how much gasoline I would like, asked me for cash or credit and proceeded to fill my empty car tank. After the tank was full, the gentleman handed back my credit card along with a receipt and I was on my merry way. New Jersey is the only state that I have traveled in that does not allow you to pump your own gas. Kind of cool but it doesn’t compare to what I experience as a teenager.

Back when I first started driving the gas stations were known as “Service Stations” and as you drove in you would drive over this little black hose and a bell would go off – usually two dings as the front wheels and then the back wheels would cross the hose. As soon as the bell went off a man in a uniform would come running to your car. His uniform shirt would have his name embroidered over one pocket- EDDIE, and the name of the gasoline brand over the other pocket – TEXACO. Impressive.

Category Icon TestBut wait there is more. Eddie would greet you with a smile and ask you if you wanted premium or regular and how much gasoline you would like him to pump into your car. “Two dollars regular.” At 25 cents a gallon that was a lot of gas. While the gas was pumping, Eddie would proceed to wash your windows, not just the front window but every window. He would then open the hood of the car and pull out the dip stick to check your oil level and then proceed to check the air pressure in all your tires. And for that you gave Eddie two bucks and a smile back. Wow! No wonder they call them Service Stations.

I guess you could call Optima a modern day Service Station. If you visit our facility in St. Louis you will be greeted with a smile or if you call us on the phone you will hear a happy hello. But beyond that Optima strives to make things simply easy for customers – getting questions answered, returning an item, making the burden as low as we can on the customer. And although we wouldn’t ask you if you want premium or regular you can count on the quality of our printing and service to be premium.

Our Value Proposition:
“Partnering for long term relationships that truly help retain and grow your customers!”
Take another look at 30 Reasons to Choose Optima

About the Author

Rich Fava is an Account Executive at Optima Graphics.
He has spent his career in the graphics world since earning his Design degree and in Trade Show since the early 90s.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, other Authors, Optima Graphics or Taylor Corp.

  1. melmwhite
    September 11, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    Rich —

    Like NJ, Oregon is the other state where pumping your own gas is against the law. My wife, always the comedian, said to me recently. “I’ve noticed there are three categories of employees who work at Oregon gas stations: retired old men, ex-cons, and teenagers. You would think that angry retirees, bitter ex-cons, and sullen teenagers would not be the folks you would want around explosive liquids or credit cards.”

    Oh well… All I know is that I was in Atlanta this summer and it took me 10 minutes to decipher how to pump my own gas. They should really consider hiring someone to do that for you.

    –Mel

  2. September 11, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    Very nice!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

