Home > Business, Creative, Examples > Communication Breakdown

Communication Breakdown


PaulFor some of you, the title may have Led you to believe that I am blogging about a Zeppelin song. Sorry if it’s a disappointment, but I’m not. I just referenced it because, well, it’s one of the best bands ever and an incredible song.

What I am here to talk about is something that happened somewhere between me planning a wedding and me posting this blog today. Somewhere in that space we ended up with no blog. Dum dum dum-dum! Yep, there was truly a Communication Breakdown. I’m not really sure what happened, and in this particular case, I’m not too concerned about it.  

I’m sure each and everyone one of you can relate. Whether it is the stressful communications (and lack thereof) for a couple planning a wedding, family, friends, co-workers, bosses, etc etc. we all experience Communication Breakdowns.

I’m not here to tell you that is a good thing, it most certainly is not. However, it can be an opportunity. Such breakdowns can certainly upset us, but they can challenge and grow us as well. We don’t have a blog today. My boss is out of town. At some point he may very well inquire of me why we don’t have anything. So, I’m seizing the opportunity to find a solution to my blogglessness (new word, just created it).

PaulGood communication is essential in life; that is, unless you live alone in a cave. If you deal with ANYONE, EVER, you have to have good communication for peace, harmony, efficiency, understanding… Learning it, though, is not easy as there are many facets, paradigms and subtleties to it. Perhaps the most important part to learn is SUAL. Just made up that acronym too. Have you guessed it?
Shut Up And Listen
That is a tad bit blunt, but let’s be honest, we all probably need to hear it once in awhile. Really listen though – not just give others the time and space to talk – but soak it in and understand what they are saying.

I’m not going to get up in the pulpit and preach to you how you can better your communications. You have thousands of resources to review and explore that. Besides, I’m no expert myself – just ask my wife.

So, as my cheap “out” on this blog, I will point you to a whiteboard animation that discusses Problems and Solutions. I don’t know who this guy is and I know nothing about his book, so don’t take this as an endorsement. I just see a fun whiteboard animation; and who doesn’t like those?

My problem, no blog, has a solution: me blogging and throwing in a handy reference video.
Happy Viewing!!!

…and don’t forget the most common solutions to web issues you encounter — clear your browser’s cache and cookies!

About the Author
Paul Robnett is “The Web Dude” with Optima Graphics. He has been parked in front of a computer, more or less, since the early 90’s, working in newspaper advertising, sign shops, prepress, printing and now web.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

