Home > Business, Examples > Buzzwords for 2015

Buzzwords for 2015


Author

OmniChannel

My 21 year old son asked for a new hi-tech, does everything except wipe your nose, wrist watch gadget for Christmas this year. Me, just now learning the fine art of getting the time to stop flashing on my VCR (and NO I did not use black electrical tape) decided to do my due diligence and start my search with my good friend Google.com. Easily navigating all the ads and eventually stumbling across the brand and model he wanted, I perused countless reviews while silently wondering if they were legitimate posts or all fake to either boost or destroy the brand. I then headed to the local retail outlet that was carrying the product to make my purchase.

Upon entering the establishment, I discovered that what I had learned from the net made me more an expert than the sales associate. Heck – the poor individual could not even tell me where they kept the stock of this item and headed off to find the store manager. After a short 15 minute wait, I then learned that they were out of stock country wide and chances were they would not get replacement inventory until after the New Year. However, they were willing to make my son’s Christmas bright by offering me version 1.0 at a 10% savings. The problem is that they could not tell me any of the differences between version 1.0 and 2.0. DANG! Why had I not read the specs on version 1.0.

AuthorThanking them for their effort, I headed home and went to the company’s online store where I registered as a new user, went to my email for the password, signed in as a member and flawlessly navigated the ordering process (God help my email and all the virtual flyers it’s about to receive). Upon review of my order acknowledgement, I realized that I had ordered the wrong color and frantically searched for the auto correct button on the company’s website. I eventually stumbled across a phone number and the pure torture of dealing with a company via the antiquated system that was affectionately referred to as MA Bell began. After failing to hear an option that would magically correct my blunder I, with moves like Muhammad Ali, began to mercilessly pound each and every key on my phone in an attempt to confuse or overwhelm the system. Eventually a live attendant came to the rescue and began the slow methodical process of mercilessly beating and pounding me into submission.

Does this sound familiar? Are you wondering just what the heck my rantings have to do with Omnichannel? OmniChannel is about the true continuity of the buying experience across all channels of business. Think about it. Today our lives are continuous but our customer experience is far from that. We do our best to eliminate negative experience and increase the good ones. Thus, our preferences are born. The ability to have a continuous experience across brands, across format and across devices is the promise of a new way of thinking and marketing is slowly taking root in today’s business climate.

Like it or not, our future (personal and business) revolves around the successful interaction and interlacing of all forms of communication across all platforms. If we want to succeed, we have to walk a mile in our customer’s shoes and stop trying to get them to do business “the way it’s always been done”. How people behave as consumers now drives what is expected from the manufacturers and distributors who supply businesses. To become truly OmniChannel, we have to start by understanding how our customer works today – much like I did – by starting online. But as you engage, that soon becomes many digital tools and becomes an expectation that – as you work with a business online or mobile, over the phone, or in-person – it all just works together… one cohesive “Omni” unit, understanding all and delivering even more.

About the Author

Bob Moser is a Strategic Account Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 1998.

  1. Bob Hughes
    January 16, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Brilliant Bob !

  2. January 16, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    Very well said Bob and dead on…thanks for sharing.

  3. Jim B
    January 16, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    Great Bob, being old school it was a nice smack in the face.

  4. melmwhite
    January 16, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    Hi Bob — Heard a story yesterday about OmniChannel marketing from a friend. If you’re over 35, it’s creepy. Under 35, it’s a viewed as a convenience.

    She was searching for boots at Kohl’s.com on her laptop. She looked at quite a few, but spent more time on one pair. A week later, she was walking in a local mall and passed by Kohl’s. As she passed by the store, she received a text on her phone for a coupon “on that exact pair of boots.”

    Big data. IT/THEY know everything about you, including how to contact you on multiple devices.

    • Bob Moser
      January 16, 2015 at 4:35 pm

      Big brother is definitely watching

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

