Home > Examples, Optima, Products > The Right Tool for the Job

The Right Tool for the Job


garyAm I lazy or just stupid? That’s the question my internal voice asked me – not once, not twice, but thrice before it sank in. Again when faced with a task, I decided to grab the nearest object – not the right tool for the job.

A few weekends ago a mishap that I won’t bore you with resulted in some minor damages to my bike including a misaligned exhaust cap. After straightening out all necessities to get the machine running right again, including some quick welding by my brother Quick, I found myself trying to undo little damages here and there. Small details unseen by anyone else but me were eating at me nonetheless. This left exhaust tip not lined up like the right one was next on my list. I tried a few things typical of my non-mechanically inclined brain. First up was NOTHING. No need to do anything it’s all-good as is. That lasted maybe a day. Second on my list was to KICK the metal into place. Seemed logical and I didn’t need to even stoop, that didn’t work and it kinda hurt. Next up was trying to DREAM or THINK the part into place. Uri Geller I am not! A tree limb, then a block of wood, the list of failures was growing until I finally remembered a rubber mallet I stole from my dad years ago. That required a short walk to the tool shed but I had found the right tool. That cap went right into place in three effortless whacks. My inner voice said, see, you are stupid and lazy but at least determined.

garyHeading into Optima™ the next day I realized that our vast portable product line is like a big tool box and some of those tools are more familiar to some customers than others. Some of our tools are out into the farthest tool shed and maybe just a bit out of site.

We tend to sell and recommend what we are most familiar with – human nature I suspect. A passion for more free time or maybe a drive to make more scratch puts one out of touch with all our options. Frankly, we may be selling the wrong tool for the job and disappointing or at least not doing proper service to our customers.

At Optima™ we champion for the reseller in many ways but often we fail in the recommendation department. We don’t want to offend our customers who often have much more experience in the exhibit industry than we do as individuals. Leaving one to make their own mistakes and then rushing in to“make it right” afterward. I would prefer to take the time and have a preemptive conversation recommending the right tool, or display product in this case, rather than face the consequences of poor choices.

Lately we have witnessed customers choosing VBurst™ Fabric Displays for designs that would be killer Xpressions® Displays and vice versa. Two really good tools but often not interchangeable when you look at the artwork. When offering your customers 10 and 20ft. portable options do you sell them on the product first? Or are we reviewing the goals of their brand or reviewing the artwork and style they are wanting to convey. Seems like good sense to offer the product that is right for the art. If you have a lot of structured or parallel art elements and copy that is critical to appear formal then maybe a tension fabric graphic like Xpressions® will not be a good idea. If your design is a dynamic photograph with lots of color and energy and you need a simple logo or statement to sit at the center of your backdrop then Xpressions® is going to be a great attention getter! I challenge my fellow Optima-ites and the many reseller customers I am proud to call my friends to start scrutinizing and suggesting the right tools for the job. If you are confused or need help finding the right product call me, your Account Rep or anyone on the Design Team for a quick consultation. We are here to help kick, mallet or weld your next opportunity to the bottom line!

About the Author
Gary Camarato is the Vice President of Marketing & Creative Development at Optima™ and has been in the Trade Show industry since 1992.

  1. Gary Camarato
    October 1, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    Reblogged this on Optima Graphics Blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

