Home > Business, Technology > How did I ever live without this?

How did I ever live without this?


AuthorA funny thing happened on the way to my out-of-town meetings last week…my iPad died…and I panicked! Here is a device I didn’t even own a few years ago and now just the thought of not having it on a sales trip caused me to break out in a cold sweat.

Now, this panic wasn’t brought about due to losing my e-mail, contacts, calendar, etc…all that’s on my phone, too. This terror came from the fact that this device has become so integrated in my selling process that I am a bit lost without it. All my literature, presentations, videos, pricing…all the stuff I once had to drag around in paper form…is now all electronically contained, presented, easily annotated, e-mailed, etc. from this remarkable device…Thank you inTouch™ for the nice app on my iPad!

So when it died on me I could just picture myself stumbling through meetings explaining why I didn’t have all this cool stuff to share, show off and present. Yikes! I recall when the boss said we were getting these my first thought was, “the only reason we are getting these toys is so he has something to watch movies on, play games with and listen to music when he travels.” But, I have to admit – in a very short time it became such a natural extension of my selling that I can hardly live without it.

blog picThe good news is this story actually does have a happy ending. I did a quick search on my phone, found the local apple store, headed past the hipsters in the skinny jeans and straight for the chubby guy with the beard in the back of the store. I was back in business with a new device and all my essential content before the next day’s meetings. Thank you Steve Jobs! Now, consider this is coming from a guy who started in this business with a pager, a phone calling card and actual folded, paper maps to find people. Good grief I can’t imagine how we got by!

About the Author

Mark Nardoni is a Strategic Account Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

