Home > Examples > The Joy of Travel

The Joy of Travel


Author

So who has a good travel story? A delay, an upgrade beyond your wildest dreams, taking a seat next to a Super Model, delays beyond your wildest nightmares?? We tradeshow folk probably have some whoppers.

By the time you read this I will be home – hopefully, because I am living a whopper right now. Two months ago, I arranged a trip to the south of France for some R&D discussions with the team at Duo. A simple trip really – depart on Tuesday, arrive Wednesday morning in Paris, take the TGV bullet train to the south, meet Wednesday through Friday and fly home Saturday. I have done this a half-dozen times without a single issue.

Well, as I type this, it is Thursday afternoon and I am 200 miles from my destination waiting out another train delay. This was not caused by Snowmageddon in the Midwest or some strange piece of luggage that appeared on the plane or by the ghost of Bob Crane. I do not know or care. By the time I arrive, I will be able to check-in online for my departing flight. I am wearing the same clothes, two-day growth on my beard and a smile from delirium and some other funny crap.

Blog Pic

Quote of this trip was uttered by a flight attendant at JFK who was arguing with the gate agent as we sat waiting for a piece of luggage to be removed from the plane: “Do you know we have people trying to go to Paris?”. “Yes” said the gate agent, “I understand the concept of travel.” “Do you, do you really understand?”. I will arrive and shall survive.
What is your best travel war story?
Happy travels!
About the Author

Dave Brown is the Vice President of Sales at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

  1. January 17, 2014 at 10:41 am

    The good news is that Dave did return. A little tattered, a little disheveled but wiser for the wear!

  2. January 17, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    Dave, glad you had an exciting and interesting overseas trip and a safe return. A lot different trip then you expected, but what great stories you can tell your friends.

  3. Claire Chappell
    January 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Funny post, Mr. Brown! Your blog photo shows maybe one of the less stressful trips to France…we hope!

  4. John Crawford
    January 22, 2014 at 10:44 am

    David so I guess you had more time to brush up on your French!
    Traveling is always a challenge, but I don’t have any good ones right now.
    John

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

