Home > Business, Examples, Technology > Are Tradeshows Worth It?

Are Tradeshows Worth It?


Author

First off – Happy Happy holiday season everyone and I hope you were able to share a chuckle or two with friends and family. I just finished a five day sales meeting with my team, having first digested the closing year followed with looking forward to the coming year. We showed the team a few sneak-peeks at things to come, reviewed some great success stories (Panoramic® sales doubled), and introduced some new team members including Frank Shue, our new Director of Manufacturing.

At one point in the meeting, I had a crazy thing happen to me – I sounded just like Jim Hoffmann.

Remember that first moment when you said something to your kids and you sounded just like your mother or father and realized – oh my god, I have become my father!? My moment was a good one – we were discussing the success we have had with InTouch™ and one of the team cited that selling technology was hard and many customers found it puzzling and wanted to know why they should be viewed as technology experts. My response was that this very customer had recently sold a very large island project and when we met a few moons back only focused on 10×10 spaces but now had changed their view on the size of a project and had simplified the process. I don’t remember my exact words but that feeling came rushing over me as I heard Jim channeling through me. One of Jim’s greatest gifts, in my humble opinion, was to take complex scenarios and simplify them – simplify them down into a single sentence and when he had done so, you knew that anything was possible. We wrapped up that conversation all energized knowing that we could now verbalize back to that customer not just HOW they could sell technology – but WHY.

Blog ImageI have been involved in Tradeshows for 22 years now and one question that I was asked numerous times when I was selling exhibits was, “Are tradeshows worth it?”. Not the complex quandary zinger one would expect: what is my ROI, but rather – are they worth it? Simple, right? Heck yeah. We say that because we believe it and also because our paychecks and family dental bills rely on a steady flow of happy exhibitors coming back for more. So why should you sell technology or specifically a member of the InTouch™ family of products??? To be blunt…it truly helps your clients prove that tradeshows ARE worth it and provides you with a new rental or purchase revenue stream. As one of our customers said to me, “InTouch™ hastens the sales process and allows my customers to escalate their selling process”. To use a worn-out catch phrase – InTouch™ is a win-win for you and your customers. Grow your sales and improve their effectiveness.

As the year closes out and Optima™ wraps up its 25th year – I give a big thanks to Dave and Jim Hoffmann for their vision when founding Optima™. From all of us at Optima™, we look forward to helping you in 2014 and greatly appreciate all of your business!

About the Author

Dave Brown is the Vice President of Sales at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since the early 90s.

  1. December 28, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Very nice. Thank you for sharing.

  2. December 28, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Dave,
    I really enjoyed reading your article. Have a safe and Happy New Year

  3. January 13, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    Hi Dave,

    I agree they can definitely still be worth it. You may need to put in more effort to make sure your process is as optimized as possible, but they are definitely still a great way to realize huge sales. If you go into a show thinking that you just need to show up and that will suffice, well then you may not get your money’s worth!

    Great article! Good luck at your 2013 shows!

  4. January 13, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    whoops! I meant 2014 shows!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

