Home > Business, Technology > Being Everywhere At Once

Being Everywhere At Once


authorI am not a sales person.
Well, I might be if you count selling my wife on the movie I want to see instead of the one she wants to.
But as Optima sales go, I do not have the title. I’ve always thought a sales position was a cool job because you always travel. Then again, that might be the main reason a sales position is NOT cool. But that doesn’t necessarily have to be an issue any more.

For the past year, we have used an online meeting service to do product demonstrations and launches to our remote sales people and customers. We have discussed and shown products in action, given presentations and answered questions all in real time. It has become a handy tool for our business environment. A recent example of this is one of our sales persons lost their passport and could not get to their customer in Canada. But they were still able to meet with the customer by using an online meeting.

This is not new technology but I see it going into a more streamline direction.
The process of the multiple-presenter presentations that took days to create and hours of organizing registrations etc. has begun to be replaced with fast and instant online meetings.

Here is an example of what I am talking about:
photoI got a call on Tuesday at 3:30 pm. The sales person could not make it to a customer’s location the next day, but wants to give a presentation for one of our products. So, a sales meeting was scheduled and meeting info sent out in quick order. Face-to-face might be the best way to meet, but online is fantastic for short notice opportunities. No money is spent on travel and the sales person still has a one-on-one with their client.

I have sat in on the online meetings our sales people have had and it is a very relaxed and helpful experience even though no one is face-to-face. I am not endorsing elimination of face-to-face sales but there is room for more tools like online meetings in our industry. It is another great way to reach out to customers with new technology, making the sale to grow business and staying connected with customers.

That gives me an idea. I do not like the looks my wife gives me when I talk her out of the movie she wants to see so maybe I can just do an online meeting with her. Yep, I’m kind of surprised that I’ve been married for over 10 years.

About the Author
Derek Leftridge is the Marketing Coordinator of Optima Graphics. He has
spent 20 years involved in many aspects of the Trade Show Industry. He is now
involved in Social Media and E-Marketing for Optima.

Other posts by Derek

  1. Rafael Gomez
    November 1, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Nicely done Derek. Your posts are always entertaining and well written.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

