Home > Business > Loyalty

Loyalty


Author

As I continue to travel my territory year after year, I have established a routine based on convenience, likes, and familiarity. We all want to be hassle-free and comfortable when on the road and away from home. I am primarily talking about the travel service companies including airlines, car rentals, and hotels, etc.

I guess you could say I have some established loyalty with the following companies: Southwest, National and Hilton hotels. Loyalty states “A feeling of devoted attachment.” Now the bachelor in me thinks that may be a little strong but, YES, I do have some comfort and familiarity with the above mentioned companies. When I plan my travel, these are my primary vendors of choice. The question I have is – why? Why do I have an established loyalty to these brands?

AuthorFor me, it’s all about website convenience for reservations, no walk around the car looking for dents, and knowing my hotel room will be clean with foam pillows. I am not a fan of feathers – no support. Additionally, these companies offer reward points to be used toward future travel, rentals, and hotel stays, offsetting future costs. Lastly, these companies are consistent in their service and annually rank high in overall guest satisfaction surveys.

Now, you can apply this thinking to just about everything that caters to the consumer. In my case, I am interested in the Why? Furthermore, how do you go about changing loyalties from one brand to another? How can salesmen and face-to-face marketers change buying behavior?

These are all good questions and ones that will not be answered in this blog.
However, as I continued to run this marathon that never ends, I will continue
to ponder the Why’s and What If’s.

About the Author

Kevin Okon is an Account Executive at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 2004 and in Sales since the mid-90s.

Categories: Business
  1. August 23, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Consistency on what was expected, promised or previously achieved is key to earning my loyalty. What’s yours?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

