Home > Business, Optima > Take The Experience First

Take The Experience First


Author

“In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins: cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later.”
~ Harold S. Geneen

This year I celebrate my 16th year working for Optima Graphics. One might think that this is a milestone, a major accomplishment worthy of a pat on the back, an atta-boy or high-scores from the judges table. Sixteen years of dedication and experience has to be worth something doesn’t it? Looking towards the judges box I see a lot of yawns, a few head-bobbing falling-asleep nods, (affectionately known as the Tony Awards here at Optima), and lots and lots of unimpressed blank stares. Seems that my competition here at Optima is extremely fierce, overly dedicated and makes me look like a neophyte in comparison. LogoSo with this being Optima Graphic’s 25th Year of servicing the trade show world, I thought I would take a moment and publicly acknowledge and sing the praises of my competition, while secretly loathing their accomplishments under my breath and behind their backs.

The King
Kevin Clobes, lifer here at Optima, while the company celebrates its silver anniversary, myth, legend and rumor has Kevin celebrating his 26th or 27th year of service – that’s how good he is.

The High Court
Tony Schmitt, Gary Camarato, Christine Kimack, Jim Powers with 21 years of service. Derek Leftridge, Jim Gleason, Dan Bornemann, Betsy Huffman, Monty Daniels, Dave Brown and the Talbot twins all close to, if not exceeding, 20 years of service. Unfortunately, there is not enough space on this blog to properly acknowledge the dedication, achievements, and contributions that each of these individuals has made to you, our customers; so I will generalize and say that in the above you have over 200 years of experience, dedication, knowledge and service to one industry. Not too shabby for a 25 year old business.

Author

Click image for larger view

The Jester
Me, of course. (it’s what I do)

The Court
Trying to overtake me and close on my heels are 25 individuals serving you for between 10 and 16 years and 56 who have been here 5 to 9 years. This brings me back to the opening quote by Harold Geneen: “Take the experience first”. Optima Graphics is loaded with the experience, dedication and drive to help propel your business to the next level. The commitment of its people is to you and your continued success. You, our customers, are the reason that we exist. I leave you with a whole-hearted thank you for your business from each and every one of us here at Optima. We look forward to another 25 years of offering new products and services that will grow your business and help you succeed. Heck, if I do my math correctly that would put Optima at 50 years in business and Kevin Clobes servicing your graphic needs for over 55.

I do ask one request of you: please – use our experience, our drive and dedication to get you “the cash”.

About the Author

Bob Moser is a Strategic Account Manager at Optima Graphics.
He has been in the Trade Show industry since 1998.

Author

  1. August 9, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Bob, You Get A Ten From Me Pal!
    g

  2. Shawn Fogle
    August 10, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Sweet! I appreciate everything you and your team do for me and our clients. All the best, Shawn

  3. Rafael Gomez
    August 12, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Great post Bob. Optima has really come a long way since my days there. I’m very happy to see you all doing so well and continuing to deliver excellence to your customers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

