Home > Business, Optima, Products > What is in a Name?

What is in a Name?


Author

Name \nām\
noun
a simple combination of letters and that we bipedal creatures have turned into a collection of sounds that mean something with very instant recognition and quite frankly emotional brand attachment.
When you hear or read, Mango – you think yummy fruit that may remind you of summer, sitting by the pool or…. That crazy SNL character. Then there is Chicago Pizza – again with the yum factor… Optima – well hopefully it draws your attention to a dedicated group of midwesterners who got your back.
I am blessed and cursed with a simple combination of letters for not just my first name, but last as well. DAVE BROWN. The nice man in customs the other day told me that I suffer from common name syndrome. I told him that I did not feel sick and he smiled, but still sent me to the ‘oh crap, I am in for extra screening with the people who look shifty’ line. See every time, I go through customs when I return to the country, I get extra treatment, when I stay at hotels, I have counted 23 times (yes 23) when another David Brown is at the hotel – I lived with Dave M Brown in college (I am dSb), met a pilot who was DB, met DB at a convention, walking across Hoover Dam, and even sat next to DB on a plane. We each got called to the podium for a new seat assignment and the agent was so puzzled, she put us each in first class. Her name, Jennifer Brown (my sisters name).

Pic

So where the heck am I going here?
Short and sweet, there is more to a name than just the combination of letters. When I listen closely, none of you, our customers ever say Optima Graphics – you just say Optima. Short, sweet, simple, and you our customers have built the brand association with Optima. And this suits us since we provide so much more than graphics these days (graphics plus fabrication, creativity, technology). I like simple and I like the rewarding association with Optima, so we are embracing it. Optima. So, have you ever met another Dave Brown?
Dave S. Brown
VP of Sales
Optima Graphics
Categories: Business, Optima, Products
  1. Reid
    March 10, 2013 at 10:23 am

    We have Homeless Dave Brown here in town (he has a room in my daughters house for now)

  2. March 10, 2013 at 11:25 am

    Dave Brown is pretty easy to spell.
    For other words, try to use spell checker.
    char·ac·ter
    (character)
    LOL

  3. March 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Have I ever met another Dave Brown?
    By far the famous of all – which I haven’t met in person yet (still working on it…):

    http://www.astonmartin.com/heritage

    Cheers,
    Ben

  4. March 10, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Dave —

    Unlike you, I’ve only encountered one other Mel(issa) White, although if you type “Mel White” into Google you’ll see pages and pages of links to a controversial (in some camps) pastor. I’ve gone through stages where I hated my name, then was OK with it (when Mel Gibson hit the scene), then was embarrassed by it (when Mel Gibson started talking).

    The beauty of a simple two syllable name is that it’s oddly memorable: Dave Brown, Mel White. I doubt it has anything to do with the colors, rather is the easy pattern. Think — Stan Lee. Bob Hope. Jay Z. Most people who know me casually, refer to me as “Mel White,” not Mel and never White. I suspect it’s the same with you.

    Embrace it my friend . . . It could be worse. We have a Tony Bennett and a Tom Jones at Classic. How would you like to smile each time someone makes a “new” joke about that? That could turn you into a serial killer pretty quickly.

    –Mel

    p.s. Why just “Optima”? Because you and your team have done such a terrific job over the years that the “Graphics” is implied.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

