Home > Business > CES – A good start for a good year?

CES – A good start for a good year?


Author

Well, now that January is wrapping up, I’ve been thinking a little more about CES. You see, CES is a show I pay attention to for a couple of reasons, but mostly because I use it as part of one of my New Year’s resolutions. My resolution doesn’t have anything to do with attending the show (which I’ve never done) or having Optima print graphics that will be used at the show (although that is wonderful every year when it happens). I’ll tell you what it is in a bit. In the meantime, it’s a show that interests me on many levels: its size, its subject matter, its exhibitors, and most importantly…its statistics.

A couple of interesting numbers came out of CES 2012. For instance, did you know that CES 2012 set personal records for attendance (over 153,000), exhibit space used (over 1.861 million square feet used), and exhibitors (over 3,100). All of this happened at the start of a year that some folks still feel shaky about. However, when you see numbers like that at the first major show of the year, does it give you some confidence? How is your outlook for 2012? Good, bad, or indifferent? Are you calculating the upcoming Mayan 2012 apocalypse in your decision?

ImageI know it charges me up, despite the fact that once again I failed my CES resolution, which I haven’t forgotten to tell you yet. I just haven’t told you yet. Let’s get back to being charged up… Optima has a lot of exciting new products and services right around the corner. Of course, I can’t give away the secrets yet. That’s what our VIP Hospitality Room at Exhibitor is for. If you want to go, we still have free show floor passes HERE, and I do hope to see you there.

In case you were wondering, I use the end of CES as my New Year’s resolution deadline to stop writing out checks with last year’s date (yes, I still use checks). My check to the gas company went out with Jan. 2011 on it, so for me, as true Chicago Cubs fans are known for saying…”there’s always next year.” However, there’s still plenty of time this year to make 2012 great (despite the inevitable Mayan apocalypse on Dec. 21st).

Tim Bonesteel
Account Executive
Optima Graphics
636.680.9259
Categories: Business
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

