Home > Business > Customer Service, from a Designer’s Perspective

Customer Service, from a Designer’s Perspective


Category Icon Test

Recently I got a new couch delivered to my house…for the second time. The first time was a bit of a debacle. To give you an idea of what I’m talking about, they wanted me to help move and install my own couch (after having paid a delivery fee, mind you). After much phone drama, I got my delivery fee refunded, but that’s not the point of this post.

The point is that as an employee of Optima Graphics, I knew exactly how I should have been treated as a consumer and valued customer. How, you ask? Because I know how I should be treating my clients, and when I’m the consumer I want to be treated just as well. In a position where I’m being trusted with not just my company’s reputation, but my clients’ reputations at times, this isn’t enough though. I’ve got to have built a relationship with my clients that means something.

Customer ServiceI can’t stress enough how important it is for a Graphic Designer to connect with his or her clients on some personal level, know their needs, and exceed them. Design, advertising and marketing all are what I would call necessary luxuries. Businesses need them to be successful, but at the same time, the budgets for them can be slashed hard and quick whenever they want to. Being able to build a relationship with my clients is essential. I spend a great deal of time throughout my day on the phone with clients, brainstorming with them, reassuring them and even selling to them on some level. When I hear about how my client’s son or daughter did in whatever sport they are competing in, and laugh with them, my time is not wasted.

The other larger parts of being a Designer that play heavily into Customer Service are a thick skin and a humble attitude. While I may be an expert in my field, my client is an expert in theirs, and a designer ignores their client’s expertise at their own risk. When I’m creating my art on my time, I can be sensitive to people’s opinions. When I’m creating art on my clients’ time, they can make any change they want. It’s not my art, it’s theirs. I will happily offer my opinions, but ultimately my satisfaction as a Graphic Designer comes from a client who is happy with their end product.

Above all, you should never hear “But I’m the Designer here…” in response to your needs as a client. That, in no way, shape or form, is good Customer Service.

But who am I to say that…I’m just a Designer.

Why not share your expectations how you want to be treated by a designer? Give the Optima Design Group a chance to exceed those expectations by contacting us with your creative needs!

Tim Toolen
Graphic Designer
Optima Graphics

Categories: Business
  1. Gary Camarato
    September 30, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Can I have your old couch? and can you deliver it this weekend?

  2. Tim Toolen
    September 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Only if I can get it back from the landfill, and only if you really, really want…? 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

