Home > Business > Do you have an addiction?

Do you have an addiction?


Hello.  My name is Julie and I have an addiction.

I have to admit I am addicted to the smell of fresh ink.  I realize that that is a gateway to other addictions, which I’m afraid I’m on the road to. Like Sharpies. Oh how I do love the Sharpies!   The bright colors, the smooth application, the way they will write on almost any surface… I digress.

I find it very hard to leave “work” at work.  It seems wherever I go there is something graphic taunting me.  Whether I’m at a restaurant critiquing the font choice on the menu or walking through an airport grumbling about the resolution on the wall graphics.  I just can’t seem to shut that part of my brain off.  And trust me the people closest to me REALLY wish I could.  They have learned not to ask me what I am grumbling under my breath about.  They know all to well I will usually launch into a soapbox speech that would make Churchill cry.

I have “educated” my friends on everything from resolution to pms colors, fonts to paper stock and what type of retractable bannerstand is being used.  As soon as they see the twitch in my eye or me rubbing the stock between my fingers, I will soon get the good ‘ol fashion “Geez, would you just leave work at work!”  *hrmph*

I don’t feel I need the help with my addictions as everyone else does.  They have threatened to take my Sharpies away.  I truly believe that my addictions are an asset to my creativity and to who I am as an artist.  I can perform in my position at work better because I am aware of what’s out there.  I can see what not to do and also what I can incorporate into my own work.  My addictions keep me sharp!

I think I’m going to start my own graphic addiction self-help group, for those of us who have a so called addiction to our craft.  You have to bring your own Sharpies.  My question to you is, do you have an addiction to the smell of fresh ink?  Please join me in the acceptance of my addictions.

Hi, my name is Julie and I have an addiction I’m proud to have…

Categories: Business
  1. t
    January 11, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I personally feel that not only do Sharpies prove the existence of a Higher Power – they also serve to prove that this Higher Power does, in fact, have feelings of affection towards us.

    Additional proof of this can also be found in the existence of lounge music, of course.

  2. December 7, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Awesome! I have the same “issues” too Julie! It’s a part of ourselves…we can’t get away from it! hehe!

    Sara :o)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

