Home > Business > US Travel Association Doing Their Part

US Travel Association Doing Their Part


Category Icon Test

I don’t know if you caught this, but there was a 1/4 page ad in a recent Wall Street Journal exposing the benefits of attending trade shows.  Now, I personally don’t have a subscription to the WSJ and I think those of you who know me aren’t terribly surprised at that one.  Fortunately, I have a CFO who does and he likes me enough to bring it in for me to peruse.  Like my grandpa always used to say, always make friends with the guy who can help you out with expense reports.  I digress…

So, this ad entitled “Boost Your ROI from Meetings and Trade Shows” touches on some statistics from an Oxford Economics study about how beneficial attending trade shows can be.  The most important statistic is that, “for every dollar a company invests in business travel, it earns $12.50 in increased revenue and $3.80 in new profits.”  Wow!  I know I didn’t know that, and I love statistical information.  What a great argument to get a new company to exhibit and keep older companies in the trade show game.

Of course, the article isn’t just statistical information.  It does go over proper trade show strategies, and not the same old “make sure the people working your booth are familiar with your product and not drunk” advice we all know and love.  One of the ideas they give is organizing your leads at the end of every day.  They go so far as advising that you email leads and send overnight packages to coworkers back to the office so you can get a jump on your competition.  I know I’ve been guilty of waiting until the end of the show to deal with leads, and this really is a wonderful  bit of advice.  The other suggestions they give are just as unique and precise as well.

This ad was put together by the US Travel Association.  If you’d like a copy, email me at tabonesteel@optimagfx.com and I’d be happy to send it to you on fax or email.  I thought this article was a wonderful way to kick-off a year that has a lot more optimism attached to it than 2009 did.  Bravo, US Travel Association! Bravo!

Categories: Business
  1. Tyler Lindvall
    January 7, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Hey Tim. Great info. Didn’t know you guys had a blog but there is some interesting stuff here. I am going to re-post this on our blog: blog.getharmonic.com. Thanks again and happy new year!

    • January 7, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Tyler-
      We’ve all been doing are part on the company blog. This was just the first time I put something down. Actually, this was technically my first blog post ever.
      Anyway, just so you could see it, I’ve attached the article/ad that I saw in the WSJ. Let me know what you think.

      Tim

      Timothy Bonesteel
      Optima Graphics
      http://www.optimagfx.com
      office- 800-844-8877 ext# 259
      cell- 314-348-5683

  2. January 7, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Hi Tim,

    I don’t generally have much time to read blogs but every time I get your marketing e-mails they seem to have something interesting and beneficial for us. So having received the e-mail that linked to your blog I took a few minutes to read it – Thank you! Optima is one of the best companies we have ever worked with. You guys do a great job getting our orders out even in major rush situations. I love working with Cindy she has been super helpful and is always on top of communicating with me on our orders. We need to get you out here again so we can all do lunch again! Thank you for everything!

  3. January 8, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Happy New Year, Tim!

    Yes, I would like a copy of that ad — email would be great!

    Thanks!
    Ruth

  4. Lowell Nickens
    February 11, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Tim,

    Hey Tim,

    Great article and very informative, however when reading this line in your article; “for every dollar a company invests in business travel, it earns $12.50 in increased revenue and $3.80 in new profits.” I had to chuckle. I couldn’t help recalling all those “Go to Meetings.com” ads that we’re constantly getting bombarded with and thinking how dumb those guys are that are doing that! Don’t they realize how much money they’re stealing from their companies by doing that? What can I say? (lol)

    Have a great year Tim and look forward to your next visit.

    Lowell

  5. March 2, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Hello Tim:

    Good article to have during times when clients are rethinking their trade show marketing programs. Please send me a copy of the article.

    Hope to visit with you at Exhibitor

    Steve

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

